Assign modules on offcanvas module position to make them visible in the sidebar.

Our school


c berkleyReverend Claude Berkley, the first Bishop of Trinidad and Tobago to come from Tobago, had been ordained a Deacon on August 8, 1992, then a priest on October 28, 1993. Elevated to the rank of Canon of the Cathedral Chapter in 2001, Canon Berkley was elected Coadjutor Bishop on October 23, 2010, and Consecrated Coadjutor Bishop on March 17, 2011. So that when Bishop Calvin Bess demitted office on December 17, 2011, the Coadjutor automatically became Bishop of the Diocese, having already been ordained and consecrated. His enthronement was simply the public recognition of his new post.

He entered Codrington College in 1989. He graduated in 1991 with a B.A. - TheologyHons., earning the Colin & Pearl Kirton Prize for Doctrine. In 1992, he obtained the Diploma in Pastoral Studies, taking the St. Catherine & St. Mark’s Prize for Preaching. He was ordained as a Deacon on August 6th 1992, and served at St Patrick’s, and later St Mary’s. He was ordained as Priest on October 28th 1993.

Inspired by his success at Codrington, he applied for and was offered a one-year full scholarship for the M.Phil. Degree in Contextual Theology, at the University of Birmingham, England. While in the UK, he assisted at the parishes of St Barnabas in Worcester, and at St Edmund’s in Birmingham. His thesis, ‘Partnership in Mission’ explored the relationship between the USPG and the CPWI and earned him the Constance Naden Medal.

In November 2000, he returned to Tobago and served at St Patrick’s and St Mary’s, while teaching at his alma mater, Bishops High School. In 2001 he was elevated to the rank of Canon- stall of St Chad. In August 2002, he was transferred to All Saints in POS Trinidad and in 2009, he retired from teaching, so as to devote his time to the Church.

A fanfare of drums and bells welcomed the 12th Bishop of the Diocese, and the fourth local to be appointed Bishop after Clive Orminston Abdulah (1970-1993), Rawle Ernest Douglin (1993-2001) and Calvin Wendell Bess (2001-2011).

Share this information

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn